Myanmar Medical Association was founded in 1949. It is the only Professional organization of Non -Governmental, non-political and non profit, independent registered medical professional organization in the country. It stands for professional integrity and loyalty. It also helps and serves our people to the upmost. Over 16000 Medical Doctors memberships and approximately 15000, non-members medical doctors are involved in academic and technical activities with the Association. Myanmar medical Association has democratically elected Executive Committee with 33 specialty societies and over 80 state and Regional and Townships medical association branches.

At 1949, Dr. Shwe Thwin organized the doctors in Yangon to develop the proper setup of Burma Medical Association. On 12th March 1949, at 7-10 p.m., General Body Meeting was done with a total 37 doctors at Muslim Free Dispensary, Barr Street, Yangon. At 13th May 1949, constitution was smoothed out by committee and approved. Meeting on 9th December 1949, BMA logo was designed with a shield, two snakes and a lion on top. We got recent premises of Yangon MMA on 11th August 1950. Annual General Meeting was held on 27th January 1951 and next election of EC was done.



Presidents (1949 to 2014 date)
Dr. U Shwe Thwin (Founder of MMA) , First founder and first secretary of MMA.

  1. Dr. Colonel Ba Thaw,
    First Myanmar Doctor of Colonel after World War II.
  2. Dr. U Ba Than Chein
  3. Dr. U Ba Than
  4. Dr. U Min Sein
  5. Dr. U Tin
  6. Dr. U Maung Maung Gale
  7. Dr. T. Chan Taik
  8. Dr. U Shwe Zan
  9. Dr. U Ko Gyi
  10. Dr. U Ba Than (Setkya)
  11. Dr. U Khin Maung Win
  12. Dr. U E
  13. Dr. U San Lwin
  14. Dr. Colonel Maung Maung Than
  15. Dr. U Pe Kyin
  16. Dr. U Aung Thein
  17. Dr. U Kyaw Maung
  18. Dr. Daw Hla Kyi
  19. Dr. U Maung Maung Aye
  20. Dr. U Maung Maung Taik
  21. Dr. U Shwe Tin
  22. Dr. U Hla Myint
  23. Dr. U Khin Maung Nyein
  24. Dr. U Tin U
  25. Dr. U Thet Hta Way
  26. Dr. Daw Kyu Kyu Swe
  27. Dr. U Ye Myint (Cardiac Surgeon)
  28. Dr. U Myo Myint (Ortho Surgeon)
  29. Dr. U Kyaw Myint Naing (Ortho Surgeon)