Myanmar Rheumatology Society

Myanmar Rheumatology Society (MRS) was founded in 2010 with the leadership of Professor Chit Soe who at that time was Professor of internal medicine at the University of Medicine 1, Yangon.

The MRS continued to thrive with a handful of physicians with special interest in Rheumatology at the initial years. Since the start of the Rheumatology specialty training in the 2010, at the University of Medicine 1 Yangon covering the lower Myanmar, and later at 2017 at the University of Medicine, Mandalay covering the upper Myanmar, the Society has expended with its new bloods. As of now, the MRS has 16 consultants and 7 trainees making up the workforce for the whole country.

MRS has been actively taking part its role as the leader in dissemination of Rheumatology knowledge to the fellow physicians and public alike, providing specialist Rheumatology care to public, conducting research, and collaborating with the overseas counterparts for exchange of knowledge and skill.

Current Organization Setup (2021)


  • Professor Tin Tin Aung
  • Professor Myo Lwin Nyein

Executive Committee

President: Professor Chit Soe
Vice Presidents:
  • Professor Yan Lin Myint
  • Professor Hlaing Mya Win
Secretary General: Dr. Cho Mar Lwin
Assistant Secretary General: Dr. Zarchi Wai Linn
Secretariat Team:
  1. Dr. Yin Minn Soe (Education and International Relations)
  2. Dr. Wai Wai Lwin Zaw (Information)
  3. Dr. Lei Lei Htay (Coordination – Lower Myanmar)
  4. Dr. Nan San Kyauk Kaw (Coordination – Upper Myanmar)
Treasures: Dr. Wai Wai Lwin Zaw
Co-treasurer: Dr. Khin Lei Lei Aung
Auditor: Dr. Aye Aye Khine
Co-auditor: Dr. Khin Thuzar Win
Executive Committee Members:
  1. Professor Than Than Htay
  2. Dr. Min Lin Zaw Oo
  3. Dr. May Kyi Nyein

Ethics Committee

President: Professor Hlaing Mya Win
Secretary: Dr. Khin Lei Lei Aung



Email: Professor Cho Mar Lwin, Secretary General, MRS.   [email protected]. Mobile: +9595046996